Delivery and Birth Plans

http://www.nbc.com/assets/video/widget/widget.html?vid=1363292

My husband and I started watching NBC’sUp All Night” around the same time my son was born. It has quickly become one of my all-time favorite shows. I think this is probably because I am exactly like Reagan (played by Christina Applegate). Also I adore Will Arnett (I mean, who doesn’t?)

The above link will lead you to a video of one of my favorite moments on this show. Reagan finally gives in and gets an epidural, although it goes completely against her 20-page birth plan. In fact, everything that happens during her labor and delivery goes against her detailed plan. She ends up with a hot doctor who makes her feel awkward, she gets an epidural she never wanted, and she even ends up having a C-section.

This leads me to one question. Why do they make us type up a birth plan anyhow?

I never really gave my birth plan much stock. I was of the “if I ask for it, give it to me” mentality. It actually seemed to work out pretty well for me. I was going to try to do the entire thing the natural way (since everyone makes you feel like a terrible woman/mother if you want pain relief.) I think I did pretty well, actually. As I mentioned in a previous post, I made it to the hospital with my contractions roughly 4 minutes apart. I figured (again, like I saw in TV and the movies) that a nurse would meet me at the door and they’d throw me into a wheelchair and wheel me into a room to get to baby-ing. Of course, this is not what happens.

I was asked for my name and my information. Through labored breathing and moments of silent screaming, I gave the information they asked for. Then they told us to take a seat in the waiting room. We sat there for about 15 minutes before we were asked to meet with a nurse in an office. Again, I was asked for my name, address, social security card, husband’s information, etc. I remember thinking to myself “can’t they get this later?! I’m having a baby here!”

Finally, I was ushered into a room and a nurse checked my vitals and called my doctor in. My doctor did the measurement and told me that I wasn’t far along enough to be admitted. He recommended that I walk the hallways for two hours and then he’d check me again.

I made it an hour and a half.

At the end of that time, I was screaming for an epidural and I hadn’t even been admitted yet. The hilarious part is that walking around the hallway was actually the worst pain of the entire ordeal. By the time I was admitted and put into a delivery room, I had managed to remember my breathing and the pain didn’t seem as bad. Of course by then I had already screamed for an epidural, so the anesthesiologist was on his way. Who was I to turn him away once he was standing there?

The rest of the process was pretty quick. Within an hour of getting the epidural, I started pushing. Ciaran’s heartbeat became erratic and I ended up having to try different positions (thank goodness for a walking epidural), but I didn’t end up needing a C-section and I was happy with my experience.

The hospital never once even asked for my birth plan. And to be honest, I doubt I even remembered to pack it. Know what you want and what you don’t, but be flexible in your plans because chances are, you’re not as in control as you think you are.

~ by katiefawkes on March 14, 2012.

One Response to “Delivery and Birth Plans”

  1. […] Delivery and Birth Plans (postpartumkate.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

 
