Why Am I Losing My Hair?

In an earlier post, I wrote about how everyone floods you with advice when you’re pregnant. They tell you what to eat, what to wear, what to buy, how to think, how to be, how to raise your child, name your child… you name it, you hear it.

What they don’t bother telling you is that you lose your hair around the time your baby turns three months. Yep. It’s the truth.

You’d think that would be something noteworthy. That they might think to include it in the endless checklist that is pregnancy/postpartum/motherhood. They don’t. Probably because if you knew you’d lose a pound of hair a day, you might have some second thoughts about the whole experience. (OK – one would hope this wouldn’t sway you out of having a child, but you’d definitely want some time up front to flip out about it.)

Like any new mom, I was stoked about getting my hair done before going back to work. I figured after labor and late nights and early mornings and even being repeatedly peed on (yep, that happens too), I deserved a new hairdo. I booked my appointment, told my hair stylist to do the works, and came home looking good and feeling even better.

And then my hair started falling out.

I don’t mean a bit of hair. I mean clumps of it. It was everywhere. On my clothing, the floor, in the bathroom, even on my husband and in Ciaran’s diapers. When I asked my doctor about it, his response was that it was “normal” and to “watch out it didn’t cut off the circulation” on Ciaran’s fingers, toes, and (here is where I started freaking out) penis. Yep, that happens too.

After weeks of panicking, vacuuming, panicking, and more vacuuming, I finally settled down and realized something. I can lose pound after pound of hair and I’m still not bald.

Babyparenting.about.com describes it this way:

Normally, your hair is in a cycle of growing, resting and shedding. At any given time, you could be losing as many as 200 hairs per day. This is not a problem when you consider that there could be 100,000 or more hairs actively growing.

 

When you are pregnant, however, estrogen prolongs growth and those 200 hairs you’d be losing are put into the growth phase and very little hair is resting or shedding. This is why so many women who are pregnant have that thick, gorgeous mane.

 

After giving birth, your estrogen levels start to return to normal and so you start losing hair again. All that “extra” hair that was growing goes into the resting phase for a few months and then suddenly you are shedding all those hairs.

Ciaran is now five months old. I’m still losing my hair, but it’s lessening and I have hopes that soon enough things will go back to normal. In the end, it wasn’t the end of the world. It was just another thing on my postpartum-ness checklist. Ciaran is doing just fine and still has all of his extremities. And although I don’t have my full “thick, gorgeous mane”, I’m still looking pretty darned hot.

If you’re at this stage in your postpartumness, all I can say is hang in there. This too shall pass.

~ by katiefawkes on March 16, 2012.

One Response to “Why Am I Losing My Hair?”

  1. I had NO idea! That’s insane and talk about a shocker!!

Leave a Reply

 
