Hot Yoga

In an effort to regain my pre-pregnancy body and generally get back into shape, I joined one of my co-workers for a Sunday morning Bikram Yoga class. For those of you who are not “yoga people,” Bikram Yoga is often called “Hot Yoga”; they call it this because it is Yoga in a 105-degree room. No joke.

One thing you should know about me is that I am ridiculously competitive. I don’t mean to be. I just am.

I figured Yoga would be a safe bet. I like to consider myself a fairly flexible person and while I fail epically at every kind of aerobics class (yes, even seniors’ aerobics), I thought Yoga would be slow-paced enough for me to catch on and keep up without making a total fool of myself.

As usual, I underestimated things.

This was the first time I used my Yoga pants for actual Yoga and, I have to admit, I’m kind of proud of that fact. I showed up at the studio with the appropriate attire, my husband’s Nalgene bottle, and a hand towel. I was able to borrow a Yoga mat.

Yoga starts off really awesome. There’s relaxing breathing, some “ohm” chanting, and general de-stressing techniques. I was sold. This was exactly the experience I was looking for. Then it got more complicated. A ton of Downward Dogs, Planks, and some Tree poses. Again, I could handle that and was proud of myself for keeping up with the experts. I stared at the clock and figured at about the halfway mark, they’d give us a water break and I could towel off.

There was no break.

In Hot Yoga’s defense, my friend Tiffany tells me that this was one of the worst Yoga teachers she had ever experienced. I’ve since done another Yoga class and have to agree with her.

Our teacher showed us a complicated pose and then proceeded to tell us to hold this pose for 5 counts. I took a look around the room and saw that everyone was easily getting into the pose. I followed suit. It hurt. A lot. The first three counts seemed like an eternity, but I held strong. The next three counts were painful… and frankly fairly confused because we were supposed to be done at five, but everyone just kept holding on.

This is where my competitive side takes its ugly turn. I didn’t want to break. I didn’t want to be the only person who had to resort to child pose (or crying), so I just kept holding and counting. I think I was at about 25 counts when I finally turned my head to the side (still holding the pose) to see that our teacher had left the studio and was fiddling with her iPod in the front area of the office.

She finally returned and we moved on to other poses. I did every single one and held it as long as they told me. My body cried in pain at the end of the session, but I was proud of myself for enduring. Tiffany told me that she impressed that I was able to keep up on my first time.

I survived. I survived the class and even though my muscles were sore for days, I was proud of myself.

Often, we moms put everything else ahead of us – our kids, our husbands, our jobs, housework, Facebook, friends, pets, other family… It gets a little ridiculous. What we need to remember is that in order to be the best moms out there, we also need to take care of ourselves.

Whether its Hot Yoga, regular Yoga, Zumba, gym time, or just walking… take some time and get back to you. Get away from all of the responsibilities out there and just do something selfish. After all, you deserve it.

~ by katiefawkes on March 28, 2012.

2 Responses to “Hot Yoga”

  1. […] Hot Yoga (postpartumkate.wordpress.com) […]

  2. Hi there! Just letting you know that I’ve tagged you for the Kreativ Blogger Award. If you accept, which entails listing some facts about yourself and passing the award along, check out my most recent blog entry for the details. 🙂

    Jules
    http://thej85.wordpress.com/2012/04/10/bubbles-and-kreativ-ity/

Leave a Reply

 
