Nostalgia

I’ve always been a sucker for nostalgia, so when my son was born, I immediately found myself in a used book store buying up every single copy of my childhood favorite books: Curious George, Babar, Dr. Seuss, Madeline, Peter Rabbit, Winnie the Pooh, and many, many more. I’m sure that Ciaran will have favorites of his own, but I feel compelled to share my memories with him nonetheless. I want him to have everything I had and more. I suppose that’s part of being a parent. Sometimes it’s my favorite part.

It’s funny that we’re so drawn to those things that remind us of when we were young. Our generation is always the BEST generation. I’m sure Ciaran will grow up thinking the same about his world.

My husband and I took Ciaran on his first road trip last week and on the drive we got to talking about how it will be for our son as he grows up in this generation. We laughed about how he won’t know a world without computers, how he’ll wonder what a pay phone is, and he’ll laugh when we talk about the good ole days of Blockbuster Video trips and playing I-Spy on road trips rather than video games. It’s so strange to think that he’s going to have his own experience and won’t know any of mine except for funny stories I’ll tell him when he’s older.

We pass down nostalgia from one generation to the next, yet the things that matter most are the experiences we have today. I hope that as Ciaran grows, we’ll be able to make many new memories with him that he’ll want to share with his children when he gets older.

In the meantime, I plan on continuing to teach him about the Beatles, about Fraggle Rock and the Muppet Show, and about everything that made my childhood special. I’m sure sometimes he’ll roll his eyes at me and think how old I am, but that’s all part of the experience and I can’t wait to savor every second of it.

~ by katiefawkes on April 29, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
